Nouveau
Introducing:  AI Insights: Get Instant Case Summaries for Faster Litigation. Learn more.
Retour au blog

Préparez-vous à l'avenir avec un webinaire sur les litiges dans la transition post-Covid (et gagnez des crédits CPD)

Aaron Wenner

Au cours des neuf dernières semaines, vous avez dû vous adapter à des délais modifiés, à travailler et à plaider à distance, ainsi qu'aux nouvelles technologies. Vous vous demandez probablement à quoi vous devrez vous adapter par la suite, et comment vous préparer aux litiges dans la transition post-Covid. C'est pourquoi nous parrainons un webinaire gratuit sur l'évolution des litiges à venir, le lundi 1er juin à 12 h 00 (heure de l'Est).

Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant pour entendre des experts en litige - Brent J. Arnold, Maya Borooah et l'honorable Colin L. Campbell - parler de ce qui a fonctionné, de ce qui n'a pas fonctionné et de ce à quoi il faut s'attendre dans les tribunaux de l'après-Covid. Parmi les sujets qu'ils aborderont, citons : la pratique des procès à distance, l'importance de la défense orale par rapport à la défense écrite, et la gestion de la charge de travail à venir. Notre propre PDG, Aaron Wenner, sera le modérateur.

Ce webinaire de 60 minutes est organisé par l'association des avocats de Toronto et accrédité par le Barreau de l'Ontario. Cela signifie que vous obtiendrez des crédits de DPC lorsque vous y assisterez, car le programme contient 30 minutes de contenu sur le professionnalisme et 30 minutes de contenu sur le fond. Tout cela fait partie de notre engagement à vous donner les ressources dont vous avez besoin pour traverser cette période. 

A propos des orateurs

Brent J. Arnold, associé, Gowling WLG - exerce au sein du service de plaidoirie de Gowling WLG, où il se spécialise dans les litiges commerciaux, l'arbitrage et la cybersécurité. Il a plaidé devant tous les niveaux de tribunaux en Ontario, y compris la Cour d'appel et la Cour suprême du Canada, et a comparu devant de nombreux tribunaux administratifs. Brent a également travaillé comme membre auxiliaire du corps enseignant de l'Université York, où il a enseigné le droit commercial avancé à l'École d'études administratives.


Maya Borooah, associée, Henein Hutchison LLP - se concentre sur le contentieux pénal et réglementaire, ainsi que sur les enquêtes internes. Elle a comparu devant toutes les instances judiciaires de l'Ontario, ainsi que devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne. Avant de rejoindre Henein Hutchison, Maya a été greffière à la Cour d'appel de l'Alberta et a fait son stage dans un cabinet de premier plan spécialisé dans les litiges civils et du travail à Toronto. Elle a également été bénévole en tant qu'avocate régionale pour l'Association canadienne des sociétés Elizabeth Fry.


L'honorable Colin L. Campbell - pratique la médiation et l'arbitrage à Amicus Chambers depuis 2013, après une carrière de 15 ans en tant que juge de la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario. Colin a mené plus de 600 médiations, principalement des litiges entre investisseurs, actionnaires de sociétés/commerces et successions, mais aussi des affaires d'assurance et de construction. Il a présidé plus de 100 litiges d'arbitrage, principalement en tant qu'arbitre unique dans des affaires nationales, mais aussi plusieurs litiges internationaux en tant que membre d'un tribunal sous les auspices de la Cour permanente d'arbitrage, du Centre international de règlement des différends pour la médiation et l'arbitrage et d'autres régimes d'arbitrage.

Trouver le plan d'accès à la pratique de Covid-19 - en un seul endroit

Regardez !
Partagez sur les médias sociaux : 

En savoir plus sur le blogue

CiteRight. Now with AI Insights.

We’ve just updated CiteRight with our first generative AI feature: case law summaries. These come in ten different types so that you can use them in a variety of contexts. Automated summaries let you focus on understanding what cases say, without worrying about how to communicate those cases to others. And they’re free to CiteRight subscribers!

Lire l'article

Announcing CiteRight Next

We’re excited to announce the immediate availability of CiteRight Next, a fully redesigned and enhanced version update to Canada’s #1 legal research and document assembly suite. CiteRight Next delivers another huge boost to law firm productivity and efficiency with powerful new citation editing controls

Lire l'article

Votre voyage commence ici

Laissez-nous vous montrer personnellement comment CiteRight peut vous aider.

New
CiteRight now offers free CPD-accredited courses on Microsoft Word! Sign up today.
Back to Blog

Prepare for what’s next with a webinar on litigation in the post-Covid transition (and earn CPD credits)

Aaron Wenner

Over the past nine weeks, you’ve had to adjust to modified timelines, working and arguing remotely, and new technology. You’re probably wondering what you’ll have to adjust to next, and how to prepare for litigation in the post-Covid transition. That’s why we’re sponsoring a free webinar on the shape of litigation to come on Monday, June 1 at 12:00 p.m. ET.

Register now to hear expert litigators — Brent J. Arnold, Maya Borooah, and the Honourable Colin L. Campbell — talk about what’s worked, what hasn’t, and what to expect in the post-Covid courts. Some of the topics they’ll cover will include: remote trial practice, the importance of oral vs written advocacy, and managing the oncoming caseload. Our own CEO, Aaron Wenner, will moderate.

The 60-minute webinar is hosted by the Toronto Lawyers Association, and accredited by the Law Society of Ontario. That means you’ll earn CPD credits when you attend, as the program contains 30 minutes of Professionalism Content and 30 minutes of Substantive Content. It’s all part of our commitment to give you the resources you need to work through these times. 

About the speakers

Brent J. Arnold, Partner, Gowling WLG – practises in Gowling WLG's advocacy department, where he specializes in commercial litigation, arbitration and cybersecurity. He has appeared before all levels of court in Ontario, including the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada, and has appeared before numerous administrative tribunals. Brent has also worked as an adjunct faculty member at York University, where he taught advanced business law in the School of Administrative Studies.


Maya Borooah, Associate, Henein Hutchison LLP – focuses on criminal and regulatory litigation, as well as internal investigations. She has appeared before all levels of court in Ontario, as well as before the Senate Standing Committee on Human Rights. Prior to joining Henein Hutchison, Maya clerked for the Alberta Court of Appeal, and articled at a top labour and civil litigation firm in Toronto. She has also volunteered as a Regional Advocate for the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies.


The Honourable Colin L. Campbell – has practised mediation and arbitration at Amicus Chambers since 2013, following a 15-year career as a Justice of the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario. Colin has conducted over 600 mediations, mainly investor, corporate/commercial shareholder and estate disputes but also including insurance and construction matters. He has presided over more than 100 arbitration disputes, principally as a sole arbitrator in domestic issues but as well, several international disputes as a tribunal member under the auspices of the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the International Centre for Dispute Resolution of mediation and arbitration and other arbitral regimes.

Find Covid-19 Practice Directions — all in one place

Check it out!
Share on social media: 

More from the Blog

Summer Recap

Check out what the team was up to this summer!

Read Story

Welcome to the team, Justin!

Get to know Justin, our new Executive Operations Assistant.

Read Story

Driving into a new age of dispute resolution

Exploring experts' evolving approaches when it comes to technology utilization in dispute resolution.

Read Story

Your journey starts here

Let us personally show you how CiteRight can help.